The following applies to these tenancies:

It is prohibited to demand more than the agreed rent.

The following applies to re-letting after 23/02/2020:

It is prohibited to demand an amount above the upper rent limits to be determined using the rent table. If the apartment was let on 18/06/2020, there is also a ban on exceeding this rent, unless it is less than € 5.02 per square metre living space monthly and the apartment has two features of modern fitout. The allowable rent then increases on re-letting by €1; however, to maximum €5.02 per square metre living space monthly.

In general:

  1. You must inform tenants, without prompting, about the relevant circumstances for calculation of the upper rent limit by 23/04/2020. On request, you must notify of the rent agreed or due as of the cutoff date, in writing or by electronic means. These duties to provide information apply without prompting, even before new letting agreements are concluded. Model letters can be found here.
  2. If the rent is more than 20 % above the allowable upper rent limit, the rent must be reduced to this limit (upper rent limit plus 20 %) by 23/11/2020.
  3. From 01/01/2022, the rent can be increased by the inflation rate of the previous year; however, by 1.3 % maximum. This does not apply if, as a result, the upper rent limits are exceeded. The Senate Department for Urban Development and Housing defines the relevant percentage rate by legal decree.
  4. On request, to avoid undue hardship, the Investitionsbank Berlin (IBB) can approve a rent higher than allowed according to Clauses 3 to 6.
  5. The Investitionsbank Berlin (IBB) must be notified of rent increases due to modernisation and, in the cases supported by the Act, can be allocated to the rent by up to max. €1/sqm.
back to homepage

Für diese Mietverhältnisse gilt:

Es ist verboten, mehr als die vereinbarte Miete zu verlangen.

Für Wiedervermietung nach dem 22.02.2020 gilt:

Es ist verboten einen Betrag über den nach Mietentabelle zu bestimmenden Mietobergrenzen zu verlangen. War die Wohnung am 18.06.2020 vermietet, besteht zudem das Verbot, diese Miete zu überschreiten, es sei denn sie liegt unter 5,02 € je Quadratmeter Wohnfläche monatlich und die Wohnung weist zwei Merkmale moderner Ausstattung auf. Dann erhöht sich die zulässige Miete bei Wiedervermietung um 1 €, höchstens jedoch auf 5,02 € je Quadratmeter Wohnfläche monatlich.

Generell gilt:

  1. Sie müssen Mietende unaufgefordert bis zum 23.04.2020 über die maßgeblichen Umstände zur Berechnung der Mietobergrenze informieren. Auf Verlangen müssen Sie die zum Stichtag vereinbarte oder geschuldete Miete schriftlich oder elektronisch mitteilen. Diese Auskunftspflichten gelten unaufgefordert auch vor Abschluss neuer Mietverträge. Musterbriefe finden Sie hier.
  2. Liegt die Miete mehr als 20 % über der zulässigen Mietobergrenze, muss die Miete zum 22.11.2020 auf diese Grenze (Mietobergrenze plus 20 %) gesenkt werden.
  3. Ab dem 01.01.2022 kann die Miete um die Inflationsrate des Vorjahres, höchstens jedoch um 1,3 %, erhöht werden. Dies gilt nicht, wenn dadurch die Mietobergrenzen überschritten werden. Die Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Wohnen stellt den maßgeblichen Prozentsatz durch Rechtsverordnung fest.
  4. Auf Antrag kann die Investitionsbank Berlin (IBB) zur Vermeidung einer unbilligen Härte eine höhere als die nach den §§ 3 bis 6 zulässige Miete genehmigen
  5. Mieterhöhungen wegen Modernisierung müssen bei der Investitionsbank Berlin (IBB) angezeigt werden und können in den vom Gesetz begünstigten Fällen bis max. 1€/qm auf die Miete umgelegt werden.
zurück zur Startseite